Our history curriculum is built around key concepts such as continuity and change, conquest, nation and invasion. We have organised the curriculum in the following blocks:

EYFS and KS1: Our lives and history in familiar settings

Lower KS2: The shaping of Britain

Year 5: Events that rocked history

Year 6: Ancient and modern

Each module has defined end points - clearly defined knowledge and skills the children are expected to master. The Year 6 modules are designed to extend the knowledge and skills in their own right, and also to enable the children to draw comparisons with themes which they have previously met.

Below you can find the curriculum map for the whole school and a sample module.

History curriculum map

Year 4 History of Hoddesdon